r/sysadmin • u/OinkyConfidence Windows Admin • 21h ago
Another PaperCut patch, and blog post explaining
Patch 3 available: URGENT Security Advisory: PaperCut NG/MF Security Bulletin (27 Aug 2026) | PaperCut
Also a blog post from one of their executives explaining why they decided to release updates as they had them, instead of waiting for one big perfect patch. Behind the scenes - What happened after 9:42 a.m. on the 27th August 2026 | PaperCut
•
u/MFKDGAF 21h ago
What a fucking shit show. I know what I'll be doing when I clock it...yup install patch 3
•
u/FatBook-Air 20h ago
In terms of security, PaperCut is among the most reactive companies. People told them for years that they needed to take security seriously, but they decided that those people were Chicken Littles, so they rested on their laurels for years, until they had no choice but to do better. But those years of doing nothing mean they will be reactive for years to come.
•
u/OinkyConfidence Windows Admin 21h ago
I mean, yeah it's super annoying to keep making 'install papercut update' tickets, agreed. But I get it, they're fixing the bugs as they identify them apparently.
•
u/cspotme2 19h ago
Is your setup actually externally exposed though? At this rate, there will be a new patch from them every 3 days till they actually fix it
•
u/hasthisusernamegone 19h ago
I'd suggest reading the blog. It's a really good insight into what an ongoing incident looks like from the inside and why they're releasing this number of patches.
Hint: It's not incompetence.
•
u/JustADad66 17h ago
Who the heck has their system directly exposed to the Internet.
•
•
u/Magic_Neil 4h ago
Yeah when I saw the zero day I panicked a little till I saw it only affected public facing instances. If someone’s got to do it, I get it, but putting anything on the internet (let alone something silly like Papercut) is such a choice.
•
u/AddendumWorking9756 16h ago
Patching does not undo anything that already happened. If it was exposed, check the print scripts and the user or group sync program setting before you close it out, both run code and both survive an upgrade. Admin account list too.